FeaturedTravel and Tourism

Canada adds 13 counties to the visa-free list, including 5 Caribbean countries!

Canada stands as a premier destination for individuals seeking to explore, conduct business, or reunite with their loved ones. Recognizing the significance of this, we are dedicated to enhancing our immigration programs and services, striving to make them more efficient and equitable for people worldwide.

The Honourable Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, has championed this initiative, opening up new opportunities for travellers from these nations. Individuals who have held a Canadian visa within the past ten years or currently possess a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now apply for an eTA when flying to Canada instead of obtaining a visa. He stated, “Today, I am delighted to announce that the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program has been expanded to include 13 additional countries.”

As of today, eligible travellers from the following Caribbean countries can benefit from this program:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago

The other countries affected by this new change are;

  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Uruguay

By introducing visa-free air travel, we aim to streamline the process, making it faster, more convenient, and cost-effective for thousands of visitors to come to Canada for a period of up to six months, whether for business or leisure. Moreover, this initiative will contribute to the growth of our economy by promoting increased travel, tourism, and international business. Additionally, it will strengthen our diplomatic ties with these nations while prioritizing the safety and security of all Canadians.

Furthermore, this decision will significantly alleviate the burden on Canada’s visa caseload, enabling us to process visa applications with greater efficiency. This development will benefit all applicants, facilitating smoother and more expedited processing times.

It is important to note that individuals with valid visas may continue using them for their travels to Canada. Those who are not eligible for an eTA or who plan to enter Canada through means other than air (such as by car, bus, train, or boat, including cruise ships) will still be required to obtain a visitor visa. To determine eligibility for an eTA and learn how to apply, travellers can visit Canada.ca/eTA.

We are excited to embark on this new chapter, welcoming travellers from these 13 countries to explore Canada’s beauty and opportunities. Together, we can forge stronger connections, foster economic growth, and create a more interconnected world enriched by cultural exchange.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please Disable the AdBlocker